Lifetime Achievement Award

Its Purpose and History

This is an award recognizing a Wisconsin Municipal Clerk. Membership in WMCA exceeds 1,300, with many of those members having served their communities in an exemplary manner. You may be one of those or know someone who is. Have you thought recognition for significant contributions to our profession at the local, state and national levels was in order? The WMCA Executive Board thought so several years ago and created the Lifetime Achievement Award. It aims to give credit and honor where they are due.

The WMCA Lifetime Achievement Award is the recognition by one’s peers for a job well done, not just this year or last, but over a period of time. As we well know, the municipal clerk most often serves longer than any member of a governing body, thereby accumulating a record of civic contribution likely beyond that of the governing body. The clerk may be thought of as the silent public servant, but those in-the-know can testify to the scope of that service and its effectiveness.

Among the membership of our professional organization are qualified men and women whose receipt of the Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual conference in August would continue to validate the award.

The deadline for nominations is June 14th.

Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Form

Lifetime Achievement Award Guidelines and Procedures


Lifetime Achievement Award Past Recipients

2017 Recipient Julee Helt, Village of Waunakee (Pictured at right; with Teri Lehrke, Chair of Lifetime Achievement on left.)
2016 Recipient Anne Uecker, City of St. Francis
2015 Recipient Teri Lehrke, City of La Crosse 
2014 Recipient Diane Hermann-Brown, City of Sun Prairie 
2013 Recipient Jo Ann Cram, City of Tomah
2012 Recipient No Recipient
2011 Recipient Cindy Hesse, City of Appleton
2010 Recipient No Recipient
2009 Recipient: Russell Nero, City of Wautoma
2008 Recipient: Carol Alexander, City of Beloit
2007 Recipient: Janice Winget, Village of Union Grove
2006 Recipient: No Recipient
2005 Recipient: Sharon Christensen, City of Madison
2004 Recipient: Bernard Kahl, Village of Mukwonago
2003 Recipient: Karen Peters, City of Fitchburg
2002 Recipient: Jane Wilms, Village of Germantown
2001 Recipient: James Villiesse, City of New London
2000 Recipient: No Recipient
1999 Recipient: June Nirschl, Town of Delafield
1998 Recipient: Charlotte Nelson, Village of Ashwaubenon
1997 Recipient: Bonnie Morris, Village of Dousman
1996 Recipient: Jane Kitzrow, Town of Yorkville